The largest collection on the history of Russia from ancient times to the end of the XIX century. 5 million exhibits and unique interiors in the Russian style
The cathedral, which became the symbol of Russia. 10 churches in one. It is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List
Opened to the 100th anniversary of the victory over Napoleon. Unforgettable experience for war history lovers
The daily life of the Moscow boyars in the XVI-XVII century. Furniture, utensils, clothes and customs from Ivan the Terrible to the beginning of the reign of the Romanov dynasty
St.Basil’s Cathedral (the Cathedral of protecting veil of the most holy Mother of God on the moat)
The Cathedral was built from 1555 to 1561 by order of Tsar Ivan IV the Terrible, who’s reign was the longest in Russian history. The Cathedral is a military memorial which appeared in honor of victory over the Kazan Khanate. Ten cathedral’s churches are represented interiors of the 16th–20th centuries. The walls and vaults of the temple are covered with frescoes and oil paintings with plant ornament and images of saints. The museum temporary exhibition presents rare examples of ancient Russian icon‐painting school and masterpieces of applied art. Precious donations of royalty and parishioners are located in the former sacristy. Relics of Moscow inhabitant Basil the Blessed (the contemporary of Ivan the Terrible) were buried under ground near the east wall of Protecting Veil Cathedral. In 1588 on this place was built a church, which is dedicated to St.Basil. Wall paintings and temple icons narrate the amazing miracles of the Saint.
109012 Moscow, Red Square
‘Okhotny Ryad’, ‘Teatralnaya’, ‘Ploschad Revolyutsii’, ‘Kitay-Gorod’ metro stations
Tour centre: +7 (495) 692 37 31
7 September — 8 November:
open daily 11 a.m. – 18 p.m.
9 November — 31 December:
open daily 11 a.m. – 17 p.m.
Last admission: 45 minutes before closing
At temperatures below -15°С, the museum shortens opening hours.
To clarify closing hours of the museum call: +7 (495) 692-37-31
During the school holidays (autumn, winter and spring), the museum's opening hours are extended by 1 hour.
from May 15 to August 31— 1000 roubles
from September 1 to May 14 — 700 roubles
Entrance ticket with audioguide (English, French, Chinese, Spanish):
from May 15 to August 31— 1500 roubles
from September 1 to May 14 — 1200 roubles
Due to the restoration of the monument to Minin and Pozharsky, the entrance to the territory of the Pokrovsky Cathedral has been temporarily moved. Unfortunately, the new entrance from the Kremlin wall is not equipped with a ramp.
If you have any difficulties with walking up and down the stairs at the entrance to the territory of the Pokrovsky Cathedral, please contact the museum staff by phone:
+7 (495) 698-33-04.
We apologize for the temporary inconvenience.
Copyright © 2013–2021 Historical Museum
Подписка на рассылку